Euro 2008 Winner – Spain

June 30, 2008 · Posted in English Football 

Finally, EURO 2008 has ended with Spain beating Germany 0-1 in Vienna. This is the first time in 44 years that Spain has received a major trophy in any football tournament.

Liverpool striker, Fenando Torres, was the scorer of the only goal of the match to bring the trophy back to Spain.

Coach Luis Aragones, who will step down after four years in the job, paid tribute to Torres after the final whistle. Great job to the man!

Something about Torres:

Spain striker Fernando Torres set a record for the highest league tally by a foreign player in his Premier League debut season for Liverpool, surpassing Ruud van Nistelrooy’s mark of 23 league goals in the final game of the 2007-2008 campaign against Tottenham to reach the milestone of 24.

His next season in Liverpool is looking promising as he sets out to lead the attack. With Manchester United, Arsenal and Chelsea looming, there is a possibility that Liverpool might appear to be the dark horse for next season in the Premiership League.

SociBook Digg Facebook Google Yahoo Buzz StumbleUpon


One Response to “Euro 2008 Winner – Spain”

  1. […] Euro 2008 Winner – Spain […]